A Different Metabolism

I had to go back there to finish the tape I was working on. Side B would be filled with the sea, the chicken, the wind and the presence of this building. When I saw it again after ten years I recognized it immediately. It added to my feeling that I’d never gone away. Ten years ago it was not in use. And now it still isn’t in use. It is the highest building in the area, that is further defined by olive groves, orange plantations, unused land, people’s second houses, signs that say ‘heaven’ or ‘rosy’ and a splendid view on the Gulf of Gioia Tauro.

image

The road next to it is unpaved. The rains of the last days have left some parts of the road deeply damaged. The occasional car drives slowly through the mud and the big puddles of water. What strikes more is the draught of cold wind and the big shadow that flow out of the building.

image

There are a lot of unfinished buildings or houses in this area. They are mostly big, a result of a carnivorian mind. There is hardly any choice around here. These days I consider to start eating meat again. The idea came to me when I watched the mountains at the other side of the Gulf. The life that’s going on there is firmly rooted in times untouched by theories.

image

Building a house must be the result of a different metabolism. It is a natural thing to do, and it is one of the most antique things to do. People arrive, people settle. But here a lot of people have the idea to built a house and then they never finish it. It should happen more often. Dysfunctional buildings create space.

image

I went back because of a metal sound. It appeared with irregular intervals. I recorded it, listened to it through my headphones. It sounded better when it was just there, not disturbed by my microphone.

image

Dysfunctional buildings create space because they mark a point in recent history. The moment the construction stops, decay starts. Nature takes over. An intention has grown into the landscape, but all it has left is an attempt on its way to become a ruin. Somebody’s life that should have continued and take form here, is going on somewhere else. Life and the function of a building define a territory. A modern day ruin accepts to become part of my territory. What else can it do?

image

 

Comments are closed.